Early candidate filings include Potts, Taylor for sheriff


Candidates for the 2018 Ohio County Primary Election started filing on Thursday, Jan. 11th and have until noon Friday, Feb. 9th to be on the May 8th primary ballot.

Among the first to file were incumbent sheriff Glen Potts (R) and former sheriff deputy and Lawrenceburg Police officer Doug Taylor (D).

County officials who have filed for re-election on the democratic ticket include auditor Deb Cappel and Commissioner Todd Walton. Republican Doris Young has filed for a second term as county recorder.

Other county offices include: Assessor-currently held by Ed Hautman; Surveyor- currently held by Wayne Stahl; Coroner- currently held by Cliff Thies; County council 1st district- currently held by Dill Dorrell; County council 2- currently held by Tim Adams; County council 3- currently held by Don Grace and County council 4- currently held by Jeff Iceberg.

In addition, Pike, Union, Cass and Randolph Township trustees and their three member advisory boards are up for re-election. The Dearborn/Ohio County Prosecutor position rounds out the local races.

Rising Sun attorney Lane Siekman is seeking the democratic nod for the U.S. House of Representative 6th Congressional District seat. Also up are State Senator District 43 and State House Representative 67th District.

Indiana’s Secretary of State and Treasurer of State will be on the ballot also.

In non-political races, the school board seats currently held by Gary Kinnett and Connie Smith will be on the ballot.