Champions crowned, records set at Vevay Media Group Invitational Track Meet


The Switzerland County girls and boys track teams participated in the Vevay Media Group Invitational last Thursday night; and the girls continued their dominance with another championship and the boys team finished a respectable second and saw a record fall in the process.

In the girls meet, Switzerland County won going away with a team total of 180; followed by second place Southwestern with 64. Rising Sun was third with 53 1/2; South Ripley had a team score of 48; and Lawrenceburg finished with 24 points.

Moriah Northcutt and McKayli Scudder powered the big win, each earning two individual titles and also running on two winning relay teams.

Northcutt won the 110-meter hurdles in a time of :17.62; and she also won the 300-meter hurdles in a time of :51.25

Scudder won the high jump with a height of 5’1″; and the long jump with a distance of 15’1″.

The two joined Sydney Thomas and Emma Giglio in winning the 400-meter relay in a time of :56.47; and Maggie Clayton and Leah Anders on the winning 1,600-meter relay team with a time of 4:39.76.

Anders also earned a blue ribbon in winning the 800-meter run in a time of 2:35.55; and the 3,200-meter relay team of Anders, Mackenzie Covington, Clayton, and Kim Cutter earned first place with a time of 10:55.

Second place points were earned by Giglio in the high jump; Natalie Newman in the shot put and the discus; Covington in the 400-meter dash; Jade Mullins in the 100-meter hurdles and the 300-meter intermediate hurdles; and Cameron Ray in the 3,200-meter run.

Third places were earned by Jody Breeck in the shot put; Clayton in the 400-meter dash; and Zoe Cole in the 3,200-meter run; while fourth places were earned by Franka Kary in the 100-meter dash and Giglio in the long jump.

Ray was fifth in the 1,600-meter run; Kary was fifth in the 200-meter dash; Cutter was sixth in the 800-meter run; and Thomas was sixth in the 200-meter dash.

Taylor Cole of Southwestern earned Most Valuable Participant honors by winning the 100-meter dash; the 200-meter dash; the 400-meter dash; and was second in the long jump.


In the boys invitational, Switzerland County battled its way to a second place overall finish, and capped the night with the breaking of a relay record that had stood for 21 years.

Lawrenceburg won the event with a score of 148, followed closely by the Pacers with 110. Rising Sun was third with 98; Southwestern had 55; and South Ripley finished with 43.

The highlight of the night came during the 400-meter relay, when the Switzerland County team of Brody Splain, Logan Parton, Hunter Hayes and Keegan Morris established a new school record with a time of :45.73. The old record of :45.86 has stood since 1995 when the quartet of Joey Deck, Torrey Curry, Kent Works and Keith Oeffinger broke the record.

Individually, Morris led the Pacer attack, as he won the 100-meter dash in a time of :11.22 and the 200-meter dash in a time of :23.57.

With just three wins overall, Switzerland County relied on its depth to earn team points.

Bailey Bennett was second in the 110-meter hurdles; and the 1,600-meter relay team also earned second place. Splain was third in the 100-meter dash; Will Pike was third in the 400-meter dash; Jordan Lay was third in the 800-meter run; Cameron Shaw was third int he discus; and the 3,200-meter relay team also finished third overall.

Fourth place points were earned by Hayes in the high jump and the long jump; Parton in the 300-meter intermediate hurdles; Splain in the 200-meter dash; and Shaw in the shot put. Brad Rickett was fifth in the shot put and the discus; Parton was fifth in the long jump; Bennett was fifth in the 300-meter intermediate hurdles; and Cameron Papucci was fifth in the 3,200-meter run.

Garrett Demaree was sixth in the 1,600-meter run; and Cameron Niswander finished sixth in the 400-meter dash.

Tanner Heist of Lawrenceburg earned the Most Valuable Participant award for winning the high jump; the long jump; the 300-meter intermediate hurdles; and he was also a part of the winning 1,600-meter relay team.