Wayne Daugherty returns to Switzerland County School Board


The Switzerland County School Board held a special meeting on Monday night to fill a vacancy on the board with a new member – and ended up with a familiar face.

Wayne Daugherty, who served on the school board representing the town of Vevay from 2000-2004, was unanimously appointed by the six current board members to fill the remaining term of Wilma Swango, who resigned last month to accept the position as treasurer of the school corporation.

The current term expires on December 31st, 2008, so Monday’s appointment is to fill the remainder of the term.

Along with being on the school board for four years, Wayne Daugherty was a longtime teacher and coach in the Switzerland County system, coming here in 1972 and remaining until his retirement in 1998.

The school board held public interviews with the six candidates who applied for the position: Lee Ann Boggs, Ronald Otter, Melissa Reynolds, Pam Ricketts, Mary Stogsdill, and Wayne Daugherty.

After finishing the interviews, the board members then convened an executive session to discuss the qualifications.

The board then began its public meeting, moving through its agenda until the personnel segment, when the topic of the new school board member was brought up.

“I would like to complement all six candidates, we had six great interviews,” board vice president Jim Phipps said. “It was all very positive. I wish we had six vacancies, because everyone was very well qualified and I congratulate you on your willingness to serve.”

Board member Vern Waltz reiterated what Jim Phipps said, telling the audience that in looking over his notes from the interviews he had nothing but positives written down about each candidate.

“But unfortunately we only have one position to fill here tonight,” Vern Waltz said. “So, based on experience, I would like to nominate Wayne Daugherty for the position.”

Board member Duane Cole then seconded the motion, and it was approved unanimously. Voting in favor were board members Jim Phipps, Virgil McKay, and Bill Roberts. Board president Andy Truitt was not in attendance at the meeting.