Switzerland County High School honors fall sport athletes at banquet


Switzerland County High School paused to honor its fall sport athletes last Thursday night, spotlighting boys and girls cross country; volleyball; boys and girls soccer; and girls golf.

— In talking about the girls golf season, coach Mike McClure told the audience that this year’s team set a school record with a team score of 201; and senior Natalie Daugherty set the individual record with a 38.

The Leadership award was earned by Katie South; Jenna Daugherty earned the Most Improved Award; and Natalie Daugherty earned the Most Valuable Award.

— Coach Lesa McGarvey talked about the successes of the junior varsity volleyball team, congratulating the team members on their hard work and dedication throughout the year. She presented the Most Improved Award to Katie Rayls; the Scholastic Award to Jenna Daugherty; and the Team Leader Award to Rachel Rodgers.

For varsity volleyball, Coach Michelle Brett told the audience that her squad had good and bad moments during the season, and emphasized that with just two seniors on the team, the Lady Pacers will return a solid core of players for next year’s team.

The team’s Co-Captain Awards were presented to Natalie Daugherty and Ashley Chase; Ashley Chase earned the Most Valuable Award; Natalie Daugherty earned the Scholastic Award; and Asia Covington earned the Mental Attitude Award.

— The awards for girls soccer were presented by coach Kevin Craig. He highlighted the season, and is also encouraged by the number of players who will be returning next year.

In his awards, Coach Craig presented the Best Defense Award to Dru Morgan; the Best Offense Award was earned by Amber Smith; Brenna Green earned the Most Improved Award; Kim Fox earned the Freshman Award; and Sara Craig earned the Mental Attitude Award. The Scholastic Award was shared by Hannah Findley and Sara Craig.

— In boys soccer, Coach Tony Spoores said that his team’s season was marked with injuries that kept various players off of the field at different times. He presented the Best Defense Award to Joe Spoores; the Best Offense Award to Kris Hetrick; the Mental Attitude Award to Josh Wegman; the Most Improved Award to Devon Armstrong; and the Scholastic Award was earned by Nathan Hickman.

Coach Spoores also presented junior varsity awards. The award for the most goals and assists was shared by Jake Haskell and Tyler Frazier; and the Freshman Award was earned by David Dayadharum.

— Coach Mark Boggs presented awards to both the girls and boys cross country teams.

The girls season was highlighted by some team achievements; and also by the outstanding year turned in by junior Amanda Hon. She was the individual winner of the conference meet; and raced through the state meet structure to qualify for the state meet, only the second Lady Pacer ever to qualify.

In awards, Coach Boggs presented the Freshman Award to Beth Abbott; the Most Improved Award to Heather Thomas; the Scholastic Award was shared by Emilee Waldron and Melissa Kinne; and the Top Runner Award was earned by Amanda Hon.

In boys cross country, Coach Boggs related the different team honors that were attained during the season at various invitationals.

In awards, the coach presented the Freshman Award to Clay Meyer; the Most Improved Award to Matt Johnson; the Scholastic Award to Jim Abbott; and the Top Runner Award to Josh Snow.