Switzerland County FFA holds annual honors banquet


The Switzerland County FFA chapter, already hailed as one of the top chapters in the nation, held its annual chapter banquet last Thursday night, honoring members for their work and achievements during the past year.

High school principal Candis Haskell spoke to the students and parents in attendance about setting goals and working to attain them; and the current FFA officer team presented her with a gift in appreciation for her support of the organization.

The FFA also presented chapter members with awards for their work in judging competitions such as soils, forestry, livestock, and dairy; and also announced the top salespersons for its annual fruit sales fundraiser.

Certificates and awards were handed out for demonstration areas such as: ag and business management; food science; horticulture and landscape management; natural resources; plant and soil science; and ag sales.

Also honored were those students who represented their chapter in: creed speaking; extemporaneous speaking; freshman extemporaneous speaking; public speaking; freshman public speaking; job interview; female leadership ambassador; male leadership ambassador; quiz bowl; multimedia scrapbook; exhibit; traditional scrapbook; ag issues; and ag communications.

In proficiencies, students were honored in areas such as: ag education; small animal production; ag services; specialty animal production; dairy production; home and/or community development; and ag communications.

The chapter also honored its parliamentary procedure team; presented leadership awards; scholastic awards; “I Dare You To” leadership awards; the New Horizon award; chapter degrees; and state degrees.

Chelsea Duvall was honored as the chapter’s Star Greenhand; while Somer Alford was honored as the Star Chapter Farmer/Agribusinessman for the year.

Corey Lay was named the chapter’s Star Agriscience; and Justin Reagan was honored as the Star Placement.

Beth Abbott was honored for her service not only as a chapter officer; but also for serving as the District 12 President during the past year.

Darren Alford and Pat Lanman were honored by the chapter by being made Honorary Members.

Chapter advisor Greg Curlin gave presented some thoughts on the past year; and then honored the outgoing officer team.

This year’s officer team included: President Rachel Gurley; Vice President Corey Lay; Secretary Beth Abbott; Treasurer Emily Lanman; Reporter Carrie Truax; Sentinel Justin Reagan; Advisor Julie Furnish; Community Chairperson Ariel Clark; Chapter Chairperson Jamie Phipps; and Student Chairperson Alyssa Leap.

The senior officers then each took some time to honor their parents; and Greg Curlin then spoke about each of the seniors and their contributions to the FFA program.

The evening concluded with the installation of the new officers for the 2009-2010 year.

The new officers are: President Jamie Phipps; Vice President Carrie Truax; Secretary Julie Furnish; Treasurer Alyssa Leap; Reporter Chelsea Duvall; Sentinel Jenna Shelley; Advisor Andrea Brogan; and Chairperson Alleisha Palastro.