Sun shines on Shiner Pride Car Show


Rising Sun resident Tom Schweitzer was one of the many local car enthusiasts to take part in the 2015 Shiner Pride Car Show on Sunday, July 12.

But, Schweitzer would be the first to admit that he would not have thought the show would go on after heavy rains during the overnight hours.

However, it did go on. Rising Sun High School band director Ron Eads reported a total of 223 entries- a small show”- but larger than other area shows.

Lorene and Danny Sturgill of Virgie, Ky. (near Pikeville) were shocked as their 1965 Mustang took Best of Show. The couple doesn’t just show their car, they admitted driving it over 500 miles a week.

The problem was how to get the trophy to their home five hours away. A quick trip to the trunk and a dismantling of the top was all it took to get the trophy ready for the ride home.

In addition to class trophies, there were several special trophies presented including the Buck, Verna and Alan Lovern Memorial to Rick and Amy Roberts, the Robin Kittle Memorial to Kris Koons and the Jess Bergey Memorial to Mike Lawson.

The band members presented the Shiner Choice to Mike Vecchiola.

A special BSRA award was presented to Danny Koons for his classic street rod.

Mary Turner was winner of the quilt raffle.

A host of local car enthusiasts received trophies including Schweitzer and first timer Kevin Otter. Dylan Levi’s Ragster earned him a trophy with his grandpa Charlie Levi getting the trophy for the Best pre-49 all steel 1940 Chevy.

Best GM- Kelsey Goldrainer; 1967 Olds Toronado

Best Mopar- Jim Hollerbach; 1970 Plymouth GTX

Best Ford- Russell Coffee; 1969 Ford Mustang

Best Chevrolet- James Shepherd; 1963 Chevy Impala

Best “Orphan”- Charles Daye; 1956 Studebaker Skyhawk

Best Interior- Steve Harmeyer; 1963 Chevy Impala

Best Paint- Kris Koons; 1965 Chevy C-10

Best Engine- Terry Beasley; 1967 Chevy Camaro

Best pre ’49 All Steel (Car or Truck)- Charlie Levi; 1940 Chevy Coupe

Best Overall Truck- Ralph Gubster; 1962 Chevy Corvair

Best Overall Motorcycle- Mickey Nolan; 2002 Harley Deuce

Robin Kittle Memorial- Kris Koons; 1965 Chevy C-10

Buck, Verna & Alan Lovern Memorial- Rick and Amy Roberts; 1945 Dodge Pick-Up

Jess Birgy Memorial- Mike Lawson; 1964 Ford Pick-Up

Hot Rod Award- Nick Sideris; 1937 Ford Coupe

VSRA- Dan Koons; 1934 Ford Coupe

Shiner’s Choice- Mike Vecchiola; 1999 Ford Ranger

Club Participation- River City Classics (Aurora)

Best Of Class 1900-1948 Car- Raymond Grieshop; 1934 Ford 4-door

Best Of Class 1949-1962 Car- Bob Kindred; 1958 MG Roadster

Best Of Class 1963-1972 Car Dave Cup; 1969 Chevy Camaro

Best Of Class 1973-1989 Car- John Carlsen; 1974 Thunderbird

Best Of Class 1990-2005 Car-Brad Dowell; 2005 Chevy Corvette

Best Of Class 2006-2015 Car- Terry Mahurin; 2010 Chevy Camaro

Best Of Class 1900-1956 Truck- David Hess; 1949 Chevy

Best Of Class 1957-1987 Truck- Dave Caldwell; 1968 Chevy C-10

Best Of Class 1988-2005 Truck- Gary Pettigrew; 2005 Dodge Ram

Best Of Class 2006-2015 Truck- Dusty Whiteford; 2012 Toyota Tacoma