Spring sports wrap up successful seasons with annual awards banquet


Switzerland County High School wrapped its the 2005-2006 sports season last Thursday night with a banquet honoring students who participated in track, golf, baseball and softball.

Athletic director Kent Dunning opened the informal ceremony and Mike McClure gave the invocation before everyone helped themselves to pizza and drinks.

During the awards portion of the program:

— Coach Sean McGarvey introduced the boys track team and awarded senior Ben Hickman with the MVP award and a special award for qualifying for the regional and moving on to the state competition.

B.J. Shelton earned the Mental Attitude Award; Matt Johnson earned the Middle Distance Award; Jim Abbott earned the Long Distance Award; Brandon Otter earned the Field Event Award; Nathan Hickman earned the Sprint Award; and Kyle Green earned the Freshman Award.

— Coach Adam Dennis introduced the girls track team; and awarded Ashley Chase the Sprint Award; Amanda Hon earned the Long Distance Award; and April Thieman earned the MVP award. Emilee Waldron earned the Most Improved Award; and Christina Ahaus earned the Field Event and the Freshman Award.

— Coach Mike McClure handed out two awards for golf. Jordan Pavy earned the MVP Award and Eric Muncie earned the Most Improved Award.

— Baseball awards were handed out by coach Shannon Barger and assistant coach Ryan Cummings.

Senior Tyler May was a triple honoree, receiving the Leading Hitter Award and the Leading Pitcher Award; and he also earned a Special Award — a bat that was made with his record breaking 119 career hits printed on it.

Zach Getz earned the Defensive Award; T. J. Sefton earned the Most Improved Award; and Steve Schira earned the Mental Attitude Award. Codey Turner — manager for the boys team — was thanked for keeping book and always being there to supporting and helping the team.

— Coach Rob Daugherty was next to give out awards, presenting the softball jayvee team awards. Amber Smith earned the RBI award; Megan McCarty earned the Batting Award; Kayla Konkle earned the Pitching Award; and Kelsi South earned the Defensive Award.

— Varsity softball coach Steve Konkle was next; and before handing out the awards thanked athletic director Kent Dunning for running a great sectional. Assistant coach Holly Jackson was given a new softball glove in appreciation for the help she has given the team this past season.

Senior Natalie Daugherty was a triple award honoree at the banquet. She earned the Best Defense Award, Batting Champ Award and MVP Award.

Senior Kodi Driver earned the Pitching Award; and also the Mental Attitude Award. Ashley Bright earned the Most Improved Award; and there were two MVP Awards handed out — one was earned by Natalie Daugherty and one by Natalie Graham.

Seven Scholastic Awards were handed out to the team; Natalie Daugherty, Kodi Driver, Sara Craig, Beth Abbott, Morgan Ross, Jenna Daugherty and Emilee Waldron.