Spring SCHS sport athletes honored at end of the season banquet


Switzerland County High School officially wrapped up its 2004-2005 sports season last Thursday night with a banquet honoring students who participated in spring sports. Softball, baseball, boys golf, and track athletes were honored for their accomplishments.

— Coach Mike McClure presented awards to members of the boys golf team. This year’s MVP was Josh Hazeldean; while the Mental Attitude Award was earned by Jarrod Albright. The Most Improved Golfer Award was earned by Daniel Welch.

— In boys track, coach Sean McGarvey presented several awards to deserving athletes.

This year’s MVP was Ben Hickman, who also earned the Field Event Award. The Spring Award was earned by T.J. Sefton; the Middle Distance Award was earned by Josh Snow; and the Long Distance Award was earned by Jim Abbott. B.J. Shelton earned the Mental Attitude Award; and the Freshman Award was earned by Brandon Otter.

— Coach Larry Gault handed out awards for this year’s girls track team. This year’s MVP was Ashley Chase, who also earned the Sprint Award. The Field Event Award was earned by Courtney Cole; while Shana Todd earned the Middle Distance Award. The Long Distance Award was earned by Amanda Hon; and April Thieman earned the Freshman Award.

— Boys baseball end-of-the-year honors were handed out by coach Paul Hewitt.

For the junior varsity team, the Pitching Award was earned by Bryan Levell and the Offensive Award was earned by Jeff Oser.

For the varsity, the MVP Award was earned this year by Chancey May, who also took home the Batting Average Award and the RBI Award. Cody Peters was also a double honoree, earning the Pitching Award and the Most Wins Award. Aaron Moore earned the Defensive Award; Matt Wegman earned the Most Improved Award; and Travis Webster earned the Mental Attitude Award.

— Coach Steven Konkle honored this year’s Lady Pacer softball team, concluding a year that saw the varsity team go undefeated in the regular season and earn the conference championship.

For the junior varsity team, the Offensive Award was earned by Emilee Waldron; the Defensive Award was earned by Rachel Rodgers; and the Most Improved Award was earned by Amber Smith.

At the varsity level, this year’s MVP Award was shared by Kodi Driver and Natalie Daugherty. Natalie Daugherty also earned the Defensive Award; and the First Year Player Award was earned by Ashley Chase.

Brittany Cole earned the RBI Award, and shared the Most Improved Award with Natalie Graham. Tanya Sefton earned the Batting Award; Holly Jackson earned the Mental Attitude Award; and Jaclyn Ranz earned the Scholarship Award.