Several incumbents file for re-election


Candidates for the 2018 Ohio County Primary Election started filing on Thursday, Jan. 11th and have until noon Friday, Feb. 9th to be on the May 8th primary ballot.

County officials who have filed for re-election on the democratic ticket include auditor Deb Cappel and Commissioner Todd Walton. Assessor Ed Hautman (R) filed for re-election. Republican Doris Young has filed for a second term as county recorder. Don Grace (R) filed for re-election in county council 3. Bridgett Bolling (R) is seeking re-election as Cass Township Trustee. She is the only trustee to file and there no advisory board members have filed.

Incumbent sheriff Glen Potts (R) and former sheriff deputy and Lawrenceburg Police officer Doug Taylor (D) filed for sheriff. Dearborn Ohio County Prosecutor Lynn Deddens (R) will run for the office she was appointed to when prosecutor Aaron Negengard resigned.

Other county offices include: Surveyor- currently held by Wayne Stahl; Coroner- currently held by Cliff Thies; County council 1st district- currently held by Dill Dorrell; County council 2- currently held by Tim Adams; and County council 4- currently held by Jeff Iceberg.

In addition, Pike, Union, Cass and Randolph Township trustees and their three member advisory boards are up for re-election. The Dearborn/Ohio County Prosecutor position rounds out the local races.

Rising Sun attorney Lane Siekman is seeking the democratic nod for the U.S. House of Representative 6th Congressional District seat. Siekman has filed for state convention delegate. Also up are State Senator District 43 and State House Representative 67th District.

Indiana’s Secretary of State and Treasurer of State will be on the ballot also.

In non-political races, the school board seats currently held by Gary Kinnett and Connie Smith will be on the ballot.