School Board reorganizes, Katie Collier continues as Board President


The Switzerland County School Board of Trustees welcomed two familiar faces and one new one on Monday night, as the board held its state-mandated reorganization.

  The meeting opened with school board attorney Matt Hocker administering the oath of office to the three members who won election to four year terms in November.

  Joe Bennett, who represents Posey Township; and Greg Bosaw, who represents Craig Township, were both reelected to the board; and they were joined on Monday night by Adam Cole, who began his first term representing Jefferson Township.

  Once the three board members were in place – joining other board members Katie Collier, Josh Deck, Amy Combs, and Tye Sullivan – it was time to go through the reorganization.

  Superintendent Rod Hite opened nominations for school board president, and Combs nominated Collier to serve another term. That was seconded by Bennett, and the vote was 6-0-1, with Collier abstaining.

  Collier then resumed running the meeting, and called for nominations for school board vice president. Bennett nominated Deck to serve another term in that position, with Bosaw offering the second. That nomination passed 6-0-1, with Deck abstaining.

  Finally, Collier opened nominations for school board secretary, and Bosaw nominated current secretary Bennett for another term, with Sullivan seconding the nomination. Again, it passed by a vote of 6-0-1, with Bennett abstaining.

  Superintendent Hite then made a recommendation that Wilma Rosenberger continue as the school corporation treasurer; and that was approved unanimously. Hite then recommended Cindy Haskell to continue serving as the assistant corporation treasurer, and that was also approved unanimously.

  During the reorganization, the school board also sets several policies for the coming year.

  At Monday’s meeting, the school board approved a schedule that will have regular monthly meetings on the third Monday of each month, beginning at 6 p.m.; and the school board will also hold executive sessions and special meetings as needed.

  The school board also set its compensation for the year. For 2019, board members will receive $112 for each regular meeting; $62 for each committee meeting; and an annual stipend of $2,000 a year, which is paid out in two increments.

  Board members Combs, Sullivan, and Cole, all of whom have family members working for the school corporation who live in their households, signed Conflict of Interest disclosures.

  Board President Collier, who makes appointments to various committees; announced that she will make those appointments at the school board’s January 21st meeting.


Also as a part of the reorganization, the school board held its Board of Finance meeting, which affirmed President Collier and Secretary Bennett as the school board’s representatives to the Board of Finance. During that meeting, the school board was informed of which financial institutions are being used by the corporation — First Financial and Friendship State Bank — and also reviewed the corporation’s investment policy; reviewed the investment report; and saw a report on outstanding checks.


  In other business discussed by the school board:

  • The resignation of Switzerland County Elementary School instructional assistant Carrie Ficklin  was approved.

  • The transfer of Mona Crabtree from secretary at the Administration Building to an instructional assistant’s position at Switzerland County Elementary School was approved.