Sara Craig and Brittany Heffelmire are the 2007 Lilly Endowment Scholarship winners


The Community Foundation of Switzerland County, Inc. has announced that the two Switzerland County Lilly Endowment Community Scholars for 2007 are Sara Craig and Brittany Heffelmire.

Sara Craig is the daughter of Kevin and Nancy Craig of near Mount Sterling. She has served as co-captain of the varsity soccer team; and is secretary of the Switzerland County FFA chapter. She also serves as the senior class president and has played varsity softball all through high school. She has been a member of the National Honor Society since 10th grade.

In the community, Sara Craig has volunteered her time helping with the Special Olympics, Relay for Life, Swiss Wine Festival, and other community events. In addition, Sara Craig worked at Vevay Super Valu during her junior and senior years of high school.

Brittany Heffelmire is the daughter of Darla Heffelmire of near Vevay and the late Jeff Heffelmire. She serves as the secretary/treasurer of show choir; and has played varsity soccer all through high school. She is a member of the National Honor Society and student council and has received many academic honors, including being honored as the “Top English Student”, and awards for science and math.

In the community, Brittany Heffelmire has volunteered for the Heart of Compassion Out Reach/Community Free Store and her church nursery. She has also earned income by babysitting.


The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides full tuition for four years of undergraduate study leading to a baccalaureate degree. It also covers all required fees and up to $800 a year for required books and equipment. Students receiving the scholarship must attend an Indiana public or private college or university accredited by the North Central Association of College and Schools.

“The selection committee reviewed and interviewed 11 applicants.” said Pam Acton, Community Foundation executive director. “The students were evaluated on academics, financial need, school and community activities, writing ability and an interview.”

The Community Foundation of Switzerland County’s selection committee then submitted its recommendations to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI), who made the final decisions on the scholarship recipients.

ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state. Lilly Endowment, Inc. contracts with ICI to administer the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program.

The scholarships are the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment initiative to help Hoosier students reach higher levels of education. Indiana ranks among the lowest states in the percentage of residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree. There were 216 scholarships awarded statewide this year.

Anyone interested in more information about the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship or the Community Foundation can contact Pam Acton or Melissa Andrew at 427-9160.


Sara Craig and Brittany Heffelmire are the 22nd and 23rd Switzerland County High School graduates to be honored as winners of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship.

Past recipients have included: Renee Hoskins Rogers in 1998; David Sandidge and Elyssa Swango Haskell in 1999; Brooke McHenry-Levell and Amanda DeVeary White in 2000; Jeff Theetge, Clinton May, and Carrie Wiley in 2001; Liz Phipps, Kodi Archer McAlister, and Jeremy Armstrong in 2002; Philip Deaton, Sara Allen, and Angela Thieman in 2003; Becky Phipps, Alisha Konkle, and Amanda Gray in 2004; Amanda Watson and Mattie Waddle in 2005; and Natalie Daugherty and Melissa Kinne in 2006.