Pacer wrestling team fares well in conference tournament


On Saturday, January 14th the Switzerland County High School wrestling team traveled to Southwestern High School to participate in the team’s first conference tournament. The wrestling team is one of 14 schools participating in the Southern Indiana Wrestling Conference.

The wrestling teams in the SIWC include: Christian Academy of Indiana, Crawford County, Charlestown, Eastern Pekin, Forrest Park, Milan, Mitchell, New Washington, Paoli, Providence, Salem, Scottsburg, Southwestern, and Switzerland County.

The tournament had both varsity and junior varsity competition. There were four wrestling mats in the gym which had matches running continually all day except for small breaks between rounds and a short lunch break.

It has only taken one season for Switzerland County to build a reputation in the high school wrestling community. According to Coach Rick Wallace, the Pacers have developed the reputation of showing good sportsmanship, being very polite, and when they get on the mat “they never give up” and wrestle hard to the last second.

The Pacers wrestled hard throughout the day

Switzerland County varsity wrestlers and results from the tournament include: Kassandra Woodward 126-pound class; Ryan Brubaker 132-pound class; Chase Richards 145-pound class; Justin Kasson 160-pound class; Casey Bevis, eighth place in the 170-pound class; Alex Galbreath, third place in the 182-pound class; Kevin Adams, sixth place in the 195-pound class; Tylor Thomas, eighth place in the 220-pound class; and Bryce Fernanades, fifth place in the 285-pound class.

Results by Switzerland County’s junior varsity wrestlers include: Charles Lawson, second place in the 160-pound class; Michael Manbeck, first place in the 170-pound class; and Luke Headen, first place in the 285-pound class.

Coach Wallace said that the results of the tournament are good, but for a first year team they are tremendous.

This Saturday the Pacers will host Oldenburg Academy for the team’s final home meet of the season. The meet will begin at 1 p.m.