Ohio County added for federal storm assistance


The presidential disaster declaration of September 23rd for Indiana was amended last Wednesday, November 5th, to include Ohio County for Individual Assistance.

Other counties added as disaster areas as a result of the Windstorms in September were: Franklin, Gibson, Jasper, Orange, Posey, Ripley, St. Joseph, Vanderburgh and Warrick.

As a result, residents of 30 Indiana counties may now apply for a variety of federal and state disaster recovery programs and services.

Those counties include: Clark, Crawford, Dearborn, Floyd, Franklin, Gibson, Harrison, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jennings, Knox, Lake, LaPorte, Lawrence, Martin, Ohio, Orange, Perry, Pike, Porter, Posey, Ripley, Scott, Spencer, St. Joseph, Switzerland, Vanderburgh, Warrick and Washington.

Federal and state officials urge homeowners, renters and businesses in these counties who were affected by the September 12th – October 6th storms and flooding to register for disaster assistance immediately.

Call 1-800-621-FEMA or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for the speech- or hearing-impaired, 6 a.m. – 7 p.m. seven days a week.

The deadline to apply is November 24th.

Registration is the first step to being considered for federal disaster assistance. Officials remind residents who have already filled out damage report forms with the state, county emergency managers, or voluntary agencies, that they must register with the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to be considered for federal assistance.

Applicants for Individual Assistance are advised to have the following information available to help speed up the application process:

– Current phone number.

– Address at the time of the disaster and the address where they are now staying.

– Social Security number, if available.

– A general list of damages and losses they suffered.

– If insured, the insurance policy number, or the agent’s and company name.