Middle School runners second at South Dearborn Invitational


The Switzerland County Middle School boys and girls cross country teams fielded four teams on Saturday at the South Dearborn Invitational – finishing second to Batesville in all four races.

In the girls “A” race, Switzerland County finished with a team score of 72 points; while Batesville had 18. South Dearborn had 80; Connersville had 100; and Greensburg had 103.

Individually, Switzerland County was led by Bre Hinman, who finished 10th in a time of 13:19. Allie Mathews finished 11th in a time of 13:22; Kelly Kincaid was 15th in a time of 13:33; Brianna Meli was 18th in a time of 13:40; Alexis Carfield was 19th in a time of 13:47; Robin Furnish was 22nd in 14:16; and Paige Freeman was 29th in a time of 15:04.

In the girls “B” race, Switzerland County finished with a team total of 50 points to trail Batesville, who had 15.

The Lady Pacers were led by Hayley South in eighth place overall in a time of 15:14; Bre Ricketts was ninth in a time of 15:19; and Korah Taylor was 10th in a time of 15:25.

Other runners included: Adeli Kinne (17:15) in 11th place; Emily Dryer (17:22) in 12th place; Kayla Hall (17:34) in 13th place; Vickie Abbott (17:53) in 14th place; and Brittany Felts (23:39) in 15th place.


In the boys “A” race, Switzerland County recorded a team score of 48, while Batesville tallied 26. Greensburg had 96; Connersville had 97; Rising Sun had 103: South Dearborn had 130; and Brookville had 195.

Braden Burk paced Switzerland County with a fourth place overall finish in a time of 11:23. Anthony Dennis was eighth in a time of 11:47; Jordan Bledsoe was 10th in a time of 11:51; Nathan Smith was 11th in a time of 11:59; and Anthony Dasis was 15th in a time of 12:10.

Also, Quinn Meyer finished 24th in a time of 12:56; and Mikhail Cole was 27th in a time of 13:06.

In the boys “B” race, the Pacers were edged by Batesville by a score of 30-39. Greensburg was third, and Connersville finished fourth.

Tanner Gray was the individual winner of the race, crossing the line in a time of 12:44; and Talon Taylor was right behind, finishing second in a time of 12:53.

Ryan Sullivan (13:52) was ninth overall; Riley Phagen (14:07) was 12th; Dakota Taylor (14:34) was 15th; Hunter Jordan (14:38) was 16th; Ben Curran (15:38) was 21st; Michael Scott (16:00) was 23rd; Richie Lay (16:38) was 24th; and Dustin Tice (17:31) was 28th.