Junior Historical Society is again named as state’s ‘Most Outstanding’


Switzerland County Junior Historical Society has again been named Outstanding Chapter, Senior Division, 2007 by the Indiana Junior Historical Society.

Rebecca Looffbourrow, State Director of Indiana Junior Historical Society, presented the award to co-presidents Chantal Snyder and Aaron Deacon on Saturday, May 5th, at the concluding ceremonies of “The Great Race” end of year picnic at the Switzerland County Historical Museum. Hardworking members also participating Saturday were: Allan Paris, Ashlee Randolph, Kristie Martin, Adam Kaczmarek, Ron Snyder, Karista Wengert, and Brittany Heffelmire.

Clubs are judged on their participation in state and local activities promoting and learning Indiana history within their school, communities, and throughout the state. Clubs submit annual reports to document their endeavors throughout the year. This is the second year in a row Switzerland County’s Junior Historical Society members have been named “Most Outstanding”.

Three years ago the group was runner-up for “Most Outstanding”. Club sponsor, Janet Hendricks, is extremely proud of their hard work and enthusiasm for tackling difficult tasks.

Switzerland County Historical Society, through the efforts of Martha Bladen, Janet Hendricks, and many society members and gracious volunteers, hosted the Indiana Junior Historical society’s annual end of year picnic. Guests from Randolph County and Rush County were given “passports” to locations on the Historic Vevay Walking Tour and had to find the spots, find the “host” who awaited them, then either find a clue and answer questions or perform an activity in order to gain the points to complete the tour.

Bonus points could be accrued if town fire bells were located. Switzerland County Junior Historical Society members were tour guides and participated in other ways as well.

Club members unable to participate on Saturday, but are valuable and active in the club, include: Kathe Spoores, Bethanie Heffelmire, Heather Fussnecker, Cody Lloyd, Crystal Bevis, Kayla Nay, Tifanie Rider, Kayla Peters, Amber Smith, Tabitha Arnoldy, Laci Daugherty, and Olivia Castor.