Jayden McAlister named Lilly scholarship winner


The Ohio County Community Foundation is pleased to announce that, Jayden McAlister, member of the 2018 graduating class of Rising Sun High School, has been selected as the recipient of Ohio County’s 2018 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship. As a Lilly Endowment Community Scholar, Jayden will receive full tuition to the Indiana College or university of her choice. The scholarship also covers required fees and up to $900 per year for books and required equipment. Jayden is the daughter of Ryan McAlister and Jessica Ables.

Jayden has participated in the Spanish Club, SADD Club, Basketball (Co-Captain), Drama Club and Book Club. Jayden played soccer during her freshman and sophomore years but a knee injury ended her soccer career at the time. She then became the volleyball manager.

She returned to play soccer her senior season and started the 2017-18 basketball season before reinjuring her knee. She is a member of Student Council and National Honor Society. Jayden is active in her church youth group and is employed as a Lifeguard at the City of Rising Sun Community Pool.

Jayden is an active volunteer in the Ohio County community. She has logged over 90 hours of community appreciation service hours by assisting the Parks Board Dance Program (assisting dancers), Rising Sun Main Street Program (trash clean up), First Baptist Church (Vacation Bible School program), Ohio County Elementary Middle School PTO (Spring Festival), Rising Sun Lions Club (Concessions), and Ohio County Health Department (Health Fair).

Jayden plans to attend Valparaiso University and major in Chemistry.

The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship program are: 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of the current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state. There were 143 scholarships awarded statewide for 2017-18 adding to a total of over $372 million provided by Lilly Endowment for tuition and book stipends to date.

The Ohio County Community Foundation is proud to administer the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship for Ohio County. This past fall, twelve scholarship applications were submitted from the senior class of Rising Sun High School. The committee uses a blind process to evaluate the applications which means the committee does not know whose applications they are evaluating. The scholarship selection includes three processes: the application, a written essay and a personal interview. The scores are based on the scholarship criteria which include academics, financial need, first generation college student, extra-curricular activities and sports activities and employment; a written essay; and the applicant’s college preparation which includes the applicant’s overall potential to succeed in college. Five finalists were selected based on their application score and were interviewed individually by members of the selection committee. After the interview process, the selection committee selects one finalist and two alternates and forwarded these nominees to the Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. who then makes the final selection of the recipient.

Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.

The Ohio County Community Foundation Staff, Board of Directors and Scholarship Selection Committee would like to congratulate Jayden McAlister for being named the 2018 Ohio County Lilly Endowment Community Scholar.

The Ohio County Community Foundation is located at 330 Industrial Access Drive, Rising Sun. For information concerning the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship or other scholarships administered by the Ohio County Community Foundation, please call 812-438-9401 or visit our website at occfrisingsun.com.