High school honors fall sport athletes at banquet


Switzerland County High School held its banquet on Tuesday night to honor its athletes in fall sports.

After a dinner prepared by the high school cafeteria staff; high school principal Daniel Noel welcomed athletes and their families to the banquet. Mike McClure then offered the invocation.

The first sport honored on Tuesday night was the volleyball program, and varsity coach Steve Clark introduced the jayvee and varsity teams. Junior varsity coach Kayla Konkle was unable to attend the banquet because of class obligations.

In junior varsity volleyball, Hannah Slover earned the Most Improved Award; and Lauren Edwards and Ashley Watson were both highlighted for having varsity participation during the year.

For varsity volleyball, Coach Clark thanked his 10 seniors for their years of dedication to the program. Ashley Poling earned the Most Improved Award; Angela Swanson earned the Courage Award; and Ariel Clark was honored by a vote of her teammates as the Most Valuable Player.

It was also noted that Ariel Clark was named to the All Conference team; and was the ORVC Mental Attitude award winner.

Next up was the girls varsity golf team, and Coach Mike McClure noted that while his squad was small in numbers; all of the girls worked hard throughout the season.

Whitney Robinson earned the Freshman Award; Karoline Park earned the Most Improved Award; Hilary Lanman earned the Courage Award; and Tiffany Lucas earned the Most Valuable Player Award.

Karoline Park and Tiffany Lucas both earned their way onto the All Conference team in golf this fall.

Coach Mark Boggs then honored both the boys and girls cross country teams. He was assisted by coaches Adam Dennis and Adam Cole during the season, and thanked them for their efforts.

The girls teams suffered through injuries during the season; but still finished second in the conference; and qualified for the regional.

Paige Freeman earned both the Freshman Award and the Most Improved Award; and Bre Hinman and Allie Mathews shared the Top Runner Award.

Coach Boggs also presented Allie Mathews with a trophy signifying her individual championship of the conference meet.

Allie Mathews, Paige Freeman, and Taryn Parr all earned All Conference status.

With no seniors on the team, the future of Lady Pacer cross country continues to look bright.

In boys cross country, Coach Boggs talked about the outstanding season that the Pacers had, winning several invitationals; as well as the conference championship. The Pacers also qualified as a team for the regional, and had two individual runners qualify for the semistate.

Alex Galbreath earned the Freshman Award; while Quinn Meyer was honored as the Most Improved Runner. Tray Meyer earned the Mental Toughness Award; while number one runner Corey McFarland earned the Top Runner Award; the Leadership Award; and was also presented with a trophy signifying his individual championship in the conference meet.

Corey McFarland, Tray Meyer, Anthony Dennis, and Quinn Meyer were all named to the All Conference team.

Next came boys soccer, where head coach Brian Grigsby and assistant Jeff Mullins honored their team.

In jayvee soccer, Logan Pike earned the Offense Award; Dillon Deems earned the Defense Award; Alex Paradise earned the Team Player Award; and Christopher Morris and Logan Todd were honored for their varsity participation.

For the varsity team; Caleb McClellan earned the Offense Award; Trenton Ricketts earned the Defense Award; Jeff Mullins earned the Team Player Award; and Anthony Dasis earned the Hustle Award.

Caleb McClellan and Trenton Ricketts, both of whom earned All Conference honors, will be playing in the East-West All Star game this weekend.

The final team honored on Tuesday night was the girls varsity soccer team; which was spotlighted by head coach Roy Leap and assistants David Cox and Jeff Oser.

Awards were presented to Emily White as the Leading Scorer; Hannah Chapman as the Outstanding Defender; Moriah McFarland as the Outstanding Midfielder; and Ashley Green earned the Mental Attitude Award.

Senior Maggie Armstrong was named as the Outstanding Goalkeeper; and was also honored as the team’s Most Valuable Player.

She will be playing in the East-West All Star game this weekend; and the team will be coached by Coach Leap.

At the end of the evening, athletic director David Todd honored the scholar-athletes for fall sports; presenting certificates to underclassmen who have attained at least a 3.5 grade point average; and he presented plaques to seniors who have excelled in the classroom and on the athletic field.

Freshmen honored included: Devin Coy, Lauren Edwards, Paige Freeman, Olivia Hewitt, Jennifer Johnson, Lensi Parham, Hannah Slover, Logan Todd, and Rachel Whitham.

Sophomores honored included: Bre Hinman, Allie Mathews, Laura Nay, and Courtney Roland.

Juniors spotlighted included: Sarah Asher, Jesse Bailey, Kim Cox, Shea Dickerson, Ashley Green, Dylan Griffith, Hilary Lanman, Jessie Ray, and Lindsay Scott.

Seniors honored with plaques included: Maggie Armstrong, Ariel Clark, Maggie Devers, Laura Findley, Leslie Johnson, Kayla Keith, Alyssa Leap, Tiffany Lucas, Tray Meyer, Samantha Morgan, Jamie Phipps, Hailee Smith, and Shayla Smith.