Foundation names members, officers


The Community Foundation of Switzerland County, Inc. has announced the appointment of four new members to its board of directors.

The new members attended their first official meeting in January and include Adam Cole, Steven Konkle, Ruth Lohide, and Wilma Swango.

New board members are chosen by a nominating committee made up of current board members. Each year, the nominating committee assesses the needs of the foundation’s board and committees and recommends individuals that fit those needs to the full board of directors.

The nominating committee also takes into consideration the geographic location of board members so that all of Switzerland County is well represented.

The foundation also elected officers for 2010. New officers are: President, Roger Parrott; Vice President, Helen Parks; Secretary, Joy Briggs; and Treasurer Jennifer Scudder.

Other individuals serving on the Foundation’s Board include Sandy Althoff – who was President in 2008 and 2009 – and Craig Bond.

The foundation’s board members can serve a maximum of two three-year terms. Board members whose terms ended in December include: Bobbi Marksberry, Rita Sullivan, and Cindy Welch.

Pam Acton, the foundation’s executive director, stated: “Bobbi, Rita, and Cindy have all been tremendous assets to the foundation, and we will miss them dearly. The foundation is certainly a better organization because of their contributions.”

For additional information on the Community Foundation of Switzerland County, call 427-9160; email; or visit the foundation’s new website at