Burn Ban still in effect here


Switzerland County Emergency Management Agency director George Adams has announced that Switzerland County continues to be under burn restrictions as a result of the dry weather conditions that have struck the area recently.

The Switzerland County Commissioners officially extended its declaration that prohibits certain burning practices in the county until further notice.

Elements of the burn ban include:

– Campfires and other recreational fires are prohibited, unless they are enclosed in a fire ring that is at least 23-inches in diameter and at least 10-inches high.

– Open burning of any kind is prohibited that uses conventional fuel such as wood or other combustible matter. Grills that use charcoal briquettes or propane are exempt from this provision.

– The burning of debris, such as timber or vegetation is prohibited. This includes debris that results from building construction activities.

– Burning is allowed in burn barrels with a 1/4-inch mesh top from dawn until dusk only.

– Charcoal from permitted grills should not be removed from the grill until the charcoal has been thoroughly extinguished.


Along with those restrictions, residents and visitors are also encouraged not to set off displays of fireworks for any reason, including those that do not leave the ground and those that are aerial devices.

The restrictions come as state officials, the Indiana State Fire Marshal’s office and the Indiana Department of Natural Resources are warning Hoosiers all over Indiana to beware of causing a fire.

Normal activities such as driving across dry grass or dropping a lit cigarette on the ground could result in a sizable fire.

Along with Switzerland County, burn restrictions have also been placed on Bartholomew, Boone, Crawford, Daviess, Fayette, Hamilton, Johnson, Lawrence, Orange, Owen, Shelby, Spencer, Vanderburgh, Warrick, and Wayne counties.

A burn ban has also been instituted in Jefferson, Jennings, and Decatur counties in Southeastern Indiana.

Anyone having any questions about the restrictions here should contact EMA director George Adams at (812) 599-7640.