Bulldogs vault past Wildcats in photo finish at SDIT meet

    The first big meet of the season is in the books and the South Dearborn Invitational had all the excitement of the NBA finals.


    The first big meet of the season is in the books and the South Dearborn Invitational had all the excitement of the NBA finals.

    Well, that may be stretching it.   

    Use of Stuart Road Racing FAT (automatic timing system) brought a change of format. Instead of having preliminary heats and finals, there were consecutive finals heats and four tries in field events.

    Batesville beat Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference rival Franklin County 145-142. Lawrenceburg was third at 93.5 followed by Southwestern 69, South Dearborn 61 Oldenburg 33, Switzerland County 28, Rising Sun 24.5 and South Ripley 23.

     The closeness of the boys meet can be seen in the analysis of the official stats.

    Headed into the final relay Batesville had a commanding 131 to 116 advantage over Franklin County after 1-2 in the 3200 and a rare photo finish. Joshua Myers (winner of the 1600 in 4:20.28) edged teammate Adam Moster after letting him and Rising Sun’s Trevor Levi (fifth in 1600 – 4:59.84) set the pace through the first three laps. They crossed the line with Myers at 10:50 with Moster second 10:50.48 and Levi third 10:50.58. Batesville’s distance dominance actually had a third runner finish seventh but only the top two runners counted in the team scoring.

Riley Chipman won the shot put at the South Dearborn Invitational.

   If the event had been in the ORVC, there would have been no way that Franklin County could win even with the 10 points for first place and no Batesville relay. Franklin County won the relay and Batesville finished third.

   However, the EIAC and SDIT still have pole vault, which was still going on when the final race ended.

   When results came in Franklin County finished first and third. Evan Apsley didn’t start until 9’6” and won a dual with South Dearborn’s Austin Boggs with a height of 11’3”. Batesville was fourth.

   Like Batesville’s distance, Franklin County had a third finisher in the pole vault who placed in a sixth place tie with South Dearborn’s third competitor. Since neither counted in the team score, the meet (and final three points) went to Batesville freshman Josh Weigel and his clearing of seven feet.

    Franklin County scored in every event including two finishers in nine of the 16 events. Batesville had no high jumper but placed two in 10 events. Both teams scored five firsts.

  Rising Sun’s Daniel Daugherty was fourth (17.15) in the high hurdles and tied for seventh in the high jump

  Jake Scott added a fifth in the 300 hurdles (45.01) Zander Gilb eighth in the 200 (25.76).

  Lawrenceburg’s Eyan Peelman won the discus (150”) with Switzerland County’s Zach Howlett second (123’11”). Mason Parris won the shot put (51’9”) not close enough to his father’s (Mark Parris) record of 53’11” set in 1988. Howlett was second  (43’2”) with Peelman third (42’9 1/2”).

Rising Sun’s Trevor Levi, left, was third in a photo finish of the 3200. Batesville’s Joshua Myers won the race with teammate Adam Moster second.