Brown stepping down, GOP to reorganize


Ohio County Republican Party chairman Connie Brown reports that their will be a reorganization meeting at 11 a.m. on Saturday, March 4 in the Schroeder Building at the Rising Sun Fairgrounds.

Brown has served as chairman for 20 years and says it’s time for somebody new.

Anybody interested in the chairman position must submit a letter to the secretary of state 72 hours before the meeting. They must submit their intentions to party chairman Arlene Uhlmansiek as well.

The precinct committeemen will select the new chairman. Committeemen include Shane Koons, Yvonne Walton, Junie Brown and vice Dee Dee Brown.

They will consider other organizational appointments from anybody attending the meeting. Other current officers include vice-chairman Ron Spurlock, secretary Arlene Uhlmansiek and treasurer Yvonne Walton.