Band students excel in Solo and Ensemble contest, Anna Lockwood advances to State


Students in the Switzerland County band program participated on Saturday, February 9th, in the Indiana State School Music Association’s Solo and Ensemble Contest.

Band director Tammy Beitzel said that students participating may earn a variety of medals in the competition, ranging from Gold, Silver, and Bronze; and also participation ribbons. The best of the best are also judged to be State Finalist, and move on to the State Competition, which will be held this Saturday in Indianapolis.

Switzerland County’s Anna Lockwood, who plays the clarinet, earned State Finalist merit at the competition, and now moves on to compete against the best in the state this Saturday.

Overall, Switzerland County band members, representing the high school, middle school, and Jefferson-Craig sixth graders – earned 15 Gold Medals and 15 Silver Medals.

Here’s a rundown of the award winners:

– Gold Medals earned by soloists: Anna Lockwood, clarinet; Alexis Green, tenor saxophone; Ryan Brubaker, trumpet; Emma Lockwood, flute; Natalie Newman, alto saxophone; Allen Jones, alto saxophone; Dustin Wallace, trumpet; Ashley Day, trombone; Elliott Moore, baritone; Autumn Earles, trombone; and Jeanna Rayles, clarinet.

– Silver Medals earned by soloists: Joshua Carr, clarinet; Jerry Clayton, baritone; Tyler Peelman, flute; Kayli McElhany, alto saxophone; Luke Storey, alto saxophone; Joshua Sippel, trumpet; Dylan Behrens, snare drum; Tristan Griffis, trombone; Lydia Northcutt, clarinet; Alysa Parr, clarinet; and Kelby Rogers, flute.

– Gold Medals earned by ensembles: Large Brass Ensemble consisting of Joshua Tice, Brianna Murray, Colton Castle, Ryan Brubaker, Jerry Clayton, Pamela Dye, Thomas Maxey, Morgan Stamper, Tristan Griffis, Amanda Norfleet, Kylie Carfield, and Anthony Henderson.

The Percussion Ensemble consisting of Joshua Carr, Macy Barwick, Shana McGuire, Chantel Baatz, Dylan Behrens, Luke Compton, Michael Scott, Dusty Griswold, and Austin Peelman.

The Alto Saxophone Trio consisting of Natalie Newman, Allen Jones, and Luke Storey.

The Trombone Trio consisting of Tristan Griffis, Ashley Day, and Brittany Scott.

– Silver Medals earned by ensembles: Large Woodwind Ensemble consisting of Anna Lockwood, Alexis Green, Lexi Cooper, Alysa Parr, Joshua Carr, Nicole Tice, Kayli McElhany, Diana Kasson, Tyler Peelman, Zaria Gomez, and RheaDawn Powell.

The Flute Trio consisting of RheaDawn Powell, Zaria Gomez, and Elisia Davis.

The Trumpet Trio consisting of Dustin Wallace, Brianna Murray, and Joshua Tice.

The Brass Quartet consisting of Dustin Wallace, Elliott Moore, Ashley Day, and Joshua Tice.