Band has best score in eighth place finish


The Rising Sun Shiner Pride Marching Band completed another successful competition season with an eighth place finish in the Mid-states Class A contest on Saturday, Nov. 5th at Shea Stadium in Norwood, OH.

Their performance of A Day in the City earned them a season best score of 67.8. The 31member marching band and seven auxiliary was the final band to compete in the preliminary competition after perennial champ Kettering Alter. They seventh of the 10 teams to advance to the finals from a record 28 bands competing from Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana.

In the finals, Rising Sun improved its score from 67.3 to 67.8. However, they finished eighth after Highlands improved five points to claim seventh place with 69.3.

The band was under the direction of Jacob Rowe with guard instructor Janie Craig and instructor Alyssa Rowe. They had performance help from Michael Reed, Pat Butler and Jason Hammond Wood.

They had three songs including Birdland, Rhapsody in Blue and Channel One Suite led by field commanders Zion Burnett, Sarah Camden and Angelo Gallegos.

At the end of the evening, Alter repeated as grand champion with 84.6 points. The band swept all the awards including Best Music, Best Visual, Best General Effect, Best Percussion, and Best Auxiliary.

Reserve Grand: Champion was Triton Central of Fairland, Indiana with a score of 82.9. Third place went to Corbin with 76.7 followed by Paris (KY) 75.3.

Campbellsville was fifth with 73 followed by Indian Hill 70.5, Highlands 69.3, Rising Sun 67.8, Mason County 66.3 and Bellevue 63.9.

Members of the band included: Flutes- Emily Hirschauer, Lura Little, Megan Habel; Clarinets- Zion Burnett, Colton McKay, Brooke Taylor, Ben Lewis; Alto saxophone- Logan Bovard, Sarah Camden, Andrew Lewis, Katelyn Welzel, Emma Davis, Logan Parks; Tenor saxophone Allison Steele, Miranda Hall, Steven Courter; Baritone Saxophone- Daniel Daugherty; French Horn-Justin Kemp;

Trumpet- Angelo Gallegos, Derrick Eldridge, Andrew Koons, Andrew Courter, James Bounds; Trombone- Spencer Harrell; Euphonium- Mike Veechiola, Alex Courter; Tuba- Nathan Siekman; Bass guitar- Dylan Koons; Percussion- Kevin Otter, Josh Beyer, Ethan Webb; Flag corps-Carly Siekman, Anna Uhlmansiek, Whitney Brunner, Dakota Nead, Alexia Weaver, Shyanne Higham, Summer Wilkymacky.