As deadline approaches, little interest in school board seats


With the deadline to file to run in the fall general election for one of three seats on the Switzerland County School Board of Trustees at noon tomorrow (Friday), so far there has been very little interest from residents wanting to run.

This November there are three seats up for election, and so far the Switzerland County Clerk’s office has seen very little activity.

Up for election are the seats representing Craig Township, Jefferson Township, and Posey Township.

The deadline to file to run for election in one of those three seats is tomorrow (Friday, August 22nd) at noon, and citizens who live in those townships and want to run for the school board need to pick up candidate materials in the clerk’s office.

There is a petition that must be signed by residents living in the township that a candidate wants to run in that is part of the application; so a person cannot just walk in at the last minute and file.

Currently, only two of the three incumbents have filed:

-  Incumbent Craig Township School Board member Nancy Peters has filed for reelection. She is the only candidate in Craig Township at this time.

-  Incumbent Jefferson Township School Board member Andy Truitt has filed for reelection. He is the only candidate in Jefferson Township at this time.

-  As of press time, no one had filed for the Posey Township seat. That seat is currently held by Laura Schroer.

The school board seats are non-political, meaning that candidates do not run as Democrats or Republicans, but simply as citizens. Those three members elected in November will begin four year terms on January 1st, 2015; and will join the four other members of the school board: Wayne Daugherty representing the town of Vevay; Bill Roberts representing Cotton Township; Tammy Hayes representing Pleasant Township; and Josh Deck representing York Township. Those four officials are half way through four year terms.