Ariel Clark, Kayla Keith are 2010 Lilly Scholarship winners


The Community Foundation of Switzerland County, Inc. is pleased to announce that the two Switzerland County Lilly Endowment Community Scholars for 2010 are Ariel Clark and Kayla Keith.

Ariel Clark is the daughter of Steven and Paula Clark of near Bennington. She is the Senior Class President; team captain for the varsity volleyball team; Historian for Student Council; and was crowned Queen at the Aurora Farmers Fair.

In the community, Ariel Clark serves on the United Fund of Switzerland County and Farm Bureau Insurance boards as a youth member. She also works at the YMCA and Camp Livingston.

Ariel Clark will major in English and is undecided on which college she plans on attending.

Kayla Keith is the daughter of Steven and Carla Keith of near Quercus Grove. She is the Vice President of the National Honor Society; President of ‘Students Taking Action in Today’s Society’; Vice President of the Conservation Club; and played varsity volleyball this year.

In the community, Kayla Keith has volunteered her time for the Salvation Army, Indian Creek Watershed, and many other organizations. She is also employed at Uptown Pizza and Mo’s Steakhouse.

Kayla Keith plans on attending Ball State University and majoring in psychology.


The Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship provides full tuition for four years of undergraduate study leading to a baccalaureate degree. It also covers all required fees and up to $800 per year for required books and equipment.

Students receiving the scholarship must attend an Indiana public or private college or university accredited by the North Central Association of College and Schools.

The Community Foundation’s selection committee reviewed sixteen applications this year. The applicants were evaluated on academics, financial need, activities (school activities, community service, and work experience), and writing samples.

All four of the evaluation criteria were worth 25-percent each. The selection committee used a blind process to evaluate the applications, meaning committee members did not know whose applications they were evaluating. After the Community Foundation’s selection committee selected the recipients, they submitted their recommendations to Independent Colleges of Indiana (ICI), who makes the final decision on the scholarship recipients.

ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 31 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state. Lilly Endowment, Inc. contracts with them to administer the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program.

The scholarship program is the result of a statewide Lilly Endowment, Inc. initiative to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana. Indiana ranks near the bottom of the 50 states in the percentage of its residents over the age of 25 with a bachelor’s degree. There were 216 scholarships awarded statewide this year.

Anyone interested in learning more information about the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program or the Community Foundation can contact Pam Acton or Melissa Andrew at the Community Foundation’s office. It is located at 303 Ferry Street in Vevay and can be reached at 427-9160; or


Ariel Clark and Kayla Keith are the 27th and 28th Switzerland County students to be honored by being named as Lilly Scholars. Here’s a list of past winners:

– 1998: Renee Hoskins Rogers

– 1999: David Sandidge and Elyssa Swango Haskell

– 2000: Brooke McHenry Levell and Amanda Deveary White

– 2001: Jeff Theetge, Clinton May, and Carrie Wiley.

– 2002: Liz Phipps, Kodi Archer McAlister, and Jeremy Armstrong.

– 2003: Sarah Allen Reagan, Philip Deaton, and Angela Thieman.

– 2004: Becky Phipps, Alisha Konkle, and Amanda Gray.

– 2005: Amanda Watson and Mattie Waddle

– 2006: Melissa Kinne and Natalie Daugherty.

– 2007: Sara Craig and Brittany Heffelmire.

– 2008: Allison Steele and Lauren Jo Hunt.

– 2009: Kyle Green and Rachel Gurley.