Compiled by Mavis Uhlmansiek Celebrating the history of Ohio County and Rising Sun



March 21st, 1968

  The Order of the Eastern Star held its regular stated meeting March 7th under “Good of the Order” and presented year pins to the following members: Grace Aldred, Nina Cook, Dorothy Deck, Mabel Detmer, Geneva Dibble, Roberta Duvall, Eva Fisher, Elizabeth Gurley, Martha Hall, Alice Jackson, Mary Pate Jones, Iva Lostutter, Amelia Uhlmansiek, Mary Weisickle, Anna Woods, Sue Barricklow, Winifred Gossom, Lucille Poellman, Viola Bedgood, Geneva Scott, Verna U. Detmer, Myrtle Lawrence, Lelah Massey, Leona Obertate, Evelyn Bliss, Lowell Bliss, Mary Birdzell, Luciene Baldry, Effie North, Eva Menefee, Flora Obertate. Martha M. Espey and Kathleen Weisickle.

  The freshman Class of 1924 at Rising Sun included Mary Peters McNeely, Gertrude Barricklow, Margaret Ricketts Taggart, Mary Williamson Cofield, Norma Scalf Schoeffner, Marietta Housemeyer Kruse, Hilbert Fish, Hazel Cochran, Pauline Lambert, William Buchanan, Eugene Espey, Hugh Rice, Frank Bodle, Ralph Rollins, Lawrence Scott, Cecil Rice, Austin Collins, Ralph Baxter, Wilford Strautman, and Lee McClellan.

  Ad reads: At Palace Theatre in Aurora, now showing — Walt Disney’s “Charlie The Lonesome Cougar” and also in color Hugh O’Brian in “Africa Texas Style” and coming soon, Disney’s “Happiest Millionaire”.

  This week’s Rising Sun School cafeteria menu will include Baked Ham Sandwich, sweet potatoes, buttered mixed vegetables, fruit and milk on Tuesday; Fried Chicken, mashed potatoes, green beans, hot rolls and butter, fruit and milk on Wednesday, and on Friday is Farmer Brown Special, tossed salad, green beans, bread and butter, fruit and milk.

  Some of the children in Mrs. Henry Miller’s third grade class have organized a club, all on their own. The idea was that of Robin Cochran, who automatically became president, however, it didn’t take her long to get her classmates interested. The class voted for and elected other officers: Kathy Siekman, secretary and Renee Martin, treasurer. At this time they have collected nearly $3.00 and are still saving pennies, which will be given to some charity or perhaps more than one. Needless to say Mrs. Miller is quite pleased with her class and delighted that children of that age are civic minded.


March 21st, 1963

  Ohio County Commissioners this week appointed Mrs. Russell Slack (Doris Bodle) as Public Health Nurse for this county. She will succeed Mrs. Delbert Wright, May 1st.

  Miss Carolyn Barricklow and Gary Loh, Ohio County 4-H members, won the highest annual achievement awards at the 4-H banquet, March 15th.

  Three Rising Sun airmen have been transferred from the basic training base in San Antonio, Texas to technical training schools. AB Carel W. Titkemeyer and James Marble are at Biloxi, Mississippi, and AB Wesley M. Jackson is at Wichita Falls, Texas.

  Ronnie R. Ballard completed recruit training, February 8th, at Great Lakes, Illinois.

  Births: to Mr. and Mrs. Terry Crouch (Mary Lou Kinnett) a son, David Nicholas, March 16th.


March 18th, 1948

  More than 100 members of Noah O’Banion Post American Legion and their families participated in the 29th anniversary party in the Post Home Tuesday night.


March 18th, 1938

  At least 75 persons will take part in the WLS Prairie Farmer Community Talent show being sponsored by the High School Band which will be held here March 29th, 30th and 31st.

  The Ohio County Court this week appointed Mrs. Sarah M. Hamilton and Miss Ellen Stewart as members of the County Public Welfare Board.


March 21st, 1918

  The Ohio River Telephone Company has filed with the Public Service Commission of Indiana, a petition asking for authority to raise the monthly rates on all residence phones to $1.25, an increase of 25 cents.

  The following selectives will be sent to Camp Taylor about March 29th: Henry Winter, Hubert North, John Hess, John Black, Joseph Cayton, and Frank Smith. The following will be sent to Fort Hamilton, New York about April 3rd: Harris Facemire, August H. Cutter, Denver Niemeier, Frank Newman, and Harry Bodey.